Overexposure for beginner

Discussion in 'Exposure Discussion' started by polkor, Aug 5, 2017.

1. polkor

polkor Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hello
    i might sound dumb but as a newbie i tried to figure out depth of field and over exposure thing. Cannot find info online to this particular problem.Hence i have b&w film Iso 100 and it's a sunny day.
    I want to take portrait photo with person standing 1-2 m max.
    I want to have deep DOF.
    Should i change aperture from f/16 to f/1.7 . What about shutter speed? Does it stay at 100/125 according to sunny 16 rule? I have 50mm lens. Definitely dont want photos to be overexposed. Please help !

2. Elondonphoto

Elondonphoto Member

Shooter:
    35mm
  3. Mr Bill

Mr Bill Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi, for "deep DOF," where more of the scene is "sort of in focus," you want a physically small lens aperture - if you could look into the front of the lens when the photo is being taken, you would see only a small opening in the aperture. But to set your aperture for the small physical opening, you need a large f-number, like f/16.

So to take the photo in sunlight, yes, you can use the "sunny 16" rule. So with film ISO = 100, you should expose at roughly 1/100 or 1/125 second at f/16.

(Like Elondonphoto says, f/22 gives even more DOF, but you would need to increase the exposure time - to about 1/50 or 1/60 second, in direct sunlight with ISO 100 film.)

Last edited: Aug 5, 2017
  4. mpirie

mpirie Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Correct exposure is a product of the sensitivity of the film, the intensity of the light allowed to reach the film (aperture) and the time it's allowed to reach the film (shutter speed).

For a given film speed (ISO/ASA) the relationship between the aperture (f-stop) and shutter speed (time) are linked.